HR Alert

California Adds Posting and Sexual Harassment Training Requirements for Certain Employers

Law Effective January 1, 2018

A new law in California adds posting and sexual harassment training requirements for certain employers. Highlights of the law are presented below.

New Posting Requirement
Under the new law, every employer must post a notice (to be developed by the state) regarding transgender rights in a prominent and accessible location in the workplace.

New Sexual Harassment Training Requirements
Under current law, employers with 50 or more employees must provide at least 2 hours of classroom or other effective interactive training and education regarding sexual harassment to all supervisory employees in California within 6 months of their assumption of a supervisory position. A covered employer must provide sexual harassment training and education to each supervisory employee in California once every 2 years. Click here (section: 12950.1) for more details.

Under the new law, covered employers must also provide training inclusive of harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation as a component of the training and education specified above. The training and education must include practical examples inclusive of harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation, and must be presented by trainers or educators with knowledge and expertise in those areas.

Additional provisions are contained in the text of the new law. The law is effective January 1, 2018.


Close
Login to HRSPI Client Portal
Username:
Password:
Forgotten PasswordForgot Password
Executive Search Executive Search

Harrassment Prevention

HRSPI offers comprehensive, interactive, AB1825-Compliant training. Programs include introduction to recent anti-bullying legislation.

Latest News

News Archives

Latest Blog

Blog Archives